England awarded ‘illegal’ extra run on deflected overthrow

Cricket fans are still trying to comprehend what transpired in the final half hour of the 2019 Cricket World Cup final yesterday but there has been another twist in the story.

England were declared winners after the tied super over as they outnumbered New Zealand in boundaries during the innings. However, it has now emerged that England were awarded an extra run by the umpires in the original chase against the laws of the game.

In the final over of the match, Martin Guptill’s throw deflected off Ben Stokes bat and rolled over the boundary, as a result, England were awarded four runs for the boundary and two more runs as the English pair ran two runs.

As per rule Law 19.8, related to “Overthrow or wilful act of fielder”, it indicates that England might have been awarded five and not six runs.

The law reads: “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”

As per the law, England should have been awarded 5 runs instead of 6. This is because when Martin Guptill threw the ball at the keepers’ end, Ben Stokes and Adil Rashid hadn’t crossed. This, also means that Rashid should have faced the penultimate delivery and England would have required four runs of the last two balls.

Former umpire Simon Taufel, a member of the MCC laws sub-committee, believes it was an error of judgement on part of the on-field umpires. “It’s a clear mistake… it’s an error of judgment. In the heat of what was going on, they thought there was a good chance the batsmen had crossed at the instant of the throw,” Taufel told Fox Sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *