No Pakistani in World Cup team of the tournament

Kane Williamson was named the captain of the team but no Pakistani made it as the International Cricket Council announced its World Cup 2019 team of the tournament.

Four Englishmen, two New Zealanders, two Australians, two Indians and one Bangladesh player made it to the team.

England was represented in the team by opener Jason Roy who scored 443 runs in the tournament, Joe Root who scored 556, Ben Stokes who had 465 runs and 7 wickets to his name and pacer Jofra Archer with 18 wickets.

New Zealand captain Williamson who amassed 578 runs in the tournament and pacer Lockie Ferguson with 21 wickets were the two Kiwi’s included in the XI.

India had representation in the form of Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah, the former was the leading scorer at the world cup with 648 runs (that included five tons) while the latter took 18 wickets while conceding runs at an impressive economy rate of just 4.41.

Tournaments’ top wicket-taker Australian Mitchell Starc with 27 wickets and wicket-keeper batsman Alex Carey also made it to the team alongside Bangladesh’s Shakib-ul-Hassan who had an impressive tournament with both the bat and the ball, scoring 606 runs and taking 11 wickets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *